DUI FAQ: What You Should Know After an Arrest
Defense from a DUI Attorney in Honolulu
After you have been arrested and charged with a DUI, you may have many questions about what will happen. Will you go to jail? Will you lose your license? Can you fight back? If you are facing a DUI charge, contact my firm, the Law Office of Steve Cedillos for the experienced legal counsel you need during this critical time. When you speak to me, you will be talking to a Honolulu criminal defense lawyer with record of success. Rest assured that you will be carefully guided through each step the DUI process, and any questions that you may have will be completely and thoroughly answered to ensure that you understand everything about your case and your options.
Frequently Asked Questions about DUI
Some of the most common questions after a DUI arrest include:
Do I need an attorney if I have been arrested for DUI?
Yes, it is very much advised that you seek legal representation immediately after an arrest as a DUI case can be very complex and should be managed carefully at each point by a Honolulu DUI lawyer that knows what to do to help you.
What are the penalties for DUI?
Penalties for DUI vary based on the specifics of each individual case. For example, a first-time offender may pay a fine and lose their license for one year. For other cases, such as repeat under 21 DUI or felony DUI, you could face the loss of your driver's license for up to 2 years and time behind bars in state prison, with your future completely compromised as you will be a "convicted felon."
What is the legal BAC limit that can lead to DUI charges?
Hawaii is a zero tolerance state, so anyone under the age of 21 cannot have a blood alcohol (BAC) content that registers at or higher than 0.02%. If the driver is 21 years or older, they can be charged with a DUI if their BAC is 0.08% or higher. Commercial truck drivers may face a DUI arrest if his or her BAC level is 0.04% or higher.
Can I refuse to submit to a chemical test?
The state of Hawaii has an implied consent law, which means that an individual will be subject to an automatic license suspension for refusing to submit to a chemical test. If it is your first offense, your license will be revoked for two years and the time of revocation will grow longer with each subsequent offense.
If you have questions after you have been charged with drunk driving, contact my firm and get the answers you need from a qualified Honolulu DUI lawyer.